Return to Headlines

Great Job NHS Journalism!!!

The Journalism staff competed for awards at the Mississippi Scholastic Press Association State Convention on March 31st. They entered the literary magazine, yearbook, broadcast and newspaper categories competing against schools from all over Mississippi for 1A-6A schools. Over 600 students were present from 34 schools. There were 57 staffs from these schools competing. Congratulations to the winners and finalists. For more Info. go to  mississippischolasticpress.comMSPA / .
Broadcast The Weekly Roar 2017
Jesse Self                  Winner      Best Weather Report    
Hailey Wooldridge      Finalist      Best Anchor
Sam Cooper               Finalist      Best Anchor
NHS Staff                   Finalist      Best News Coverage
Yearbook  The Tiger  2016 yearbook
NHS Staff                  Winner       Most Improved Yearbook
Madison Shumpert    Finalist        Best Photo IIlustration
Newspaper 2017
Jesse Self                Finalist          Best Sports Story     (Coach Topps Story)
Literary Magazine     Tiger Ink  2017
Jensine Coggin         Finalist         Best Photo
Hailey Wooldridge    Finalist          Best Hand-Drawn Illustration
Lacey Robinet          Finalist          Best Hand-Drawn Illustration
Carry-in competition 2017 Yearbook
Sam Cooper          Finalist          Cover
Hailey Wooldridge Finalist          Table of Contents
Jesse Self              Finalist          Opening Sequence
MSPA Technology Grant        Winner          Debbie Schlicht   $1000     (Broadcast-The Weekly Roar)